Friday, December 23, 2011

Reinstating an expired/lapsed License


Florida
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? No, but may have to take continuing education requirements
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? A reinstatement fee must be paid.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) No
Georgia
·         Different cost based on number of years lapsed in GA.

 

Idaho
·     You have 5 years to reinstate your license by paying all back fees and penalties or if it is longer you would have to appeal to the board which may require you to either retest to go back to school. Board will review all circumstances but to my knowledge most are required to either keep the license current or pay the reinstatement fees or retake the exam or may be required to complete additional training.
 

Illinois
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? After 5 years
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? Re-take exam or 250 "brush-up" hours
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) Yes, military service


 Iowa
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? No, but if the license has lapsed the licensee must pay back renewal fees for up to two renewal cycles plus a reinstatement fee. Additionally, the licensee must attend continuing education classes ( two renewal cycles) and pay a penalty fee for attaining the hours outside the renewal cycle.
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? A reinstatement fee.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) Only special circumstances are applied to continuing education requirements for a renewal period.

 Maryland
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  •  If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? 5 years
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? They would be required to retake the exam after a 5 year period.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) No


 Michigan
  • In Michigan, they must apply for renewal within three years of their license lapsing.


 Missouri
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? No, but if they do it within 2 years after the expiration date they only have to pay the fee, plus late fee.
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? After 2 years past expiration date they have to take the practical exam, pay the practical exam fee, if they pass pay the license fee and late fee.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) No


 Nebraska 
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? No
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? No exam, but they do have to pay a reinstatement fee.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) Military and documented illness.


 New Jersey
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? Yes within 3 years simply pay the fee. 
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? 3 to 5 years requires 250 refresher course and re-testing.  Beyond 5 years- a person must retake the entire course then re-test. 
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) The state has allowed for special circumstances on a case by case basis.


 North Dakota
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? Six months and they need to take the law test. After five years they would have to take a refresher course.
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? Yes, they would be required to retake the exam after the five year period.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) No


 Oklahoma
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? Up to 15 years, but with certain fees or required hours. Within 15 years, reviews are required depending on how many years it is expired. Five to 10 years- 250 review hours and re-take exam; 10 to 15 years- 500 review hours and re-take exam; 15+years- 1000 review hours and re-take exam.
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? Re-take exam and pay exam fees.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) Yes, anyone can petition the board if they feel the need to.

South Carolina
  • Any license expired for up to four years may be reinstated if the applicant pays the reinstatement fee and submits proof to the board of completion of continuing education requirements for renewal. After four years, the license is no longer renewable by payment of fees. After four years expiration of a license, the full examination must be repeated (practical and theory). The license will then be considered on the same basis as a newly licensed individual.

South Dakota
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes, for a fee.
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? 5 years
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? Fees, and then after five years they may be required to take additional education.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) No

Utah
  •  Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes, for a fee.
  •  If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? 2 years
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? After two years the exams must be retaken and a reinstatement fee.  One of the biggest challenges Utah faces, is in 2001 Nails and Esthetics had a grandfathering clause.  Those that grandfathered in, if they let their license lapse they must go back to school and complete the full training requirement of hours.
  • Does your state allow for any "special circumstances"? (Military service, incapacitated due to illness, etc) No
Washington
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? If your license has lapsed less than 1 years it can be renewed by paying the late fee. Otherwise, you must retest.
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee?

Wisconsin
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? If your license has lapsed less than 5 years it can be renewed by paying the late fee and complying with the CEU hour requirement.
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? Beyond 5 years the board has the discretion may require that the applicant re take the exam to become licensed.

Wyoming
  • Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes  
  • If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame?5 years
  • Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee? Pay up to five years, then re-take exam.

The representatives for the following areas did not respond or we are still gathering information:

 
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Canada
Colorado
Connecticut
D.C.
Delaware
Hawaii
Indiana
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Massachusetts
Minnesota
Mississippi
Montana
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Mexico
New York
Ohio
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
Tennessee
Texas
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
 

Overall Summary: Did Respond = 17    Did not Respond = 32

There are no representatives for the following areas:

Alabama
Alaska
North Carolina
West Virginia

1 comment:

  1. Washington

    · Does your state allow an individual to reinstate their license if it has expired or lapsed? Yes

    · If so, does it have to be within a specific time frame? If your license has lapsed less than 1 years it can be renewed by paying the late fee. Otherwise, you must retest.

    · Does the individual have to retake the exam and/or pay a reinstatement fee?

    ReplyDelete