Monday, December 19, 2011

CEU Credit Requirements for Educators

The representatives for the following areas said NO CEU's are required to renew a license:

Arizona
Connecticut

Colorado
Delaware
Idaho
Indiana
Kentucky
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
New Jersey
New York
Oklahoma
Rhode Island
Virginia
Washington

Wisconsin
Wyoming

The representatives for the following areas said there ARE requirements for educators to continue education to renew their license:


California
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Required, but no minimum hours or timeframe.
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Each Instructor shall maintain their knowledge by completing CEU courses in their subject area, classroom management or other courses related to teaching.

Florida
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, 8 hrs and aids education every two years
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, Board of Cosmetology
·         CEU credits required for other admin. staff: Yes, they just made CE for admissions mandatory

Georgia
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Requires 10 hrs of cont. education for instructors

Illinois
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, 24 hrs. every 2 years (10 hrs in Teaching Methology)
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Illinois Dept. of Financial & Prof. Regulation

Iowa
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes—8 hours required every 2yrs. Two of 8 hours must be Law/Sanitation/Safety, remaining 6 can be skill updates in the specific discipline.
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: No-pre-approval, but they do have to be provided by a state approved school, college, or university or by an industry national organ whose primary focus is networking and industry updates.

Kansas
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Kansas requires 20 CEU's to renew instructor licenses every two years; 5 hours being Health and Beauty. Yes, Kansas CEU classes and hours need to be pre-approved by the KBOC

Minnesota
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: 45 CEUs every 3 years
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: The courses need to be preapproved by the MN board of Cosmetology Examiners 1 month prior. Attendees names and proof of attendance is then sent to the board.

Missouri
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Requires 12 CEU's every 2 years for instructors only No CEU's for Cosmetologist
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, by Missouri State Board

Montana
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes – 30 hrs. every two years
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, courses need to be approved if they are not listed on the web site as already approved classes

Nebraska
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, 8 hours in a 2 year period
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes the Department of Health and Human Services - Regulation and Licensure

Nevada
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Instructors need 15 CEU's a year for a total of at least 30 at renewal time since renewals are every two years.
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Nevada State Board of Cosmetology

North Dakota
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, 8 CEU's every year for instructors.

Ohio
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Eight hours required in a biennial licensing period (every two years)
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, the classes must be pre-approved by the Ohio State Board of Cosmetology

Oregon
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, renewal every 3 years need 30 CEU's NACCAS 12 per year
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Yes, Oregon Dept. Of Education

Pennsylvania
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Requires 12 hrs. of CEUs for educators (4 hrs. educational method based)

South Carolina
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Regulations recently changed to 12 contact hours of CEU per year.  However, the licenses are renewed every 2 yrs, so an educator could take 24 hours every other year and would still be in compliance.
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Continuing Education courses are provided by approved continuing education providers.  Our State board approves State Associations to Provide CE. The actual classes must also be approved by our Board of Cosmetology.

South Dakota
        ·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: 12 hours of training each year.

Texas
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: Yes, on or after Sept. 1, 2008 a licensee must complete a total of 6 hrs. of CE through department-approved courses. 2hr. in sanitation,(required under the act and 16 Texas Admin. Code, Chpt. 83.), 2hrs in methods of teaching. 

Utah
·         #of CEU credits for educators/how often: only NACCAS, 12 hours.
·         Pre-approval for cont. education/approval agency: Approved by Accreditation Body


The representatives for the following areas did not respond or we are still gathering information:

Arkansas
Canada
D.C.
Hawaii
Louisiana
Maine
Mississippi
New Hampshire
New Mexico
Puerto Rico
Tennessee
Vermont

Overall Summary: Yes = 19    No = 18    Did not Respond = 12

The following areas do not have a representative:

Alabama

Alaska
North Carolina
West Virginia

1 comment:

  1. I think mandatory ceus for nurses and medical doctors and other professions are a good thing. I think a lot of professions should have to continue their education. It keeps their practices and licenses current and up to date.

    ReplyDelete